Happy Solar Lap Day!

Another lap successfully completed! Spinning like a top, hurtling through space around what we view as a massive fireball, but is in comparison to others just a wee star, I have lived another year. What a thought! As with long road trips, when my destination was only a few hours away and could be seen named on the highway signs, excitement started to bubble in my heart as soon as we put up the January calendar.

As a little girl I wasn’t aware of the impending birthdays until just days ahead. Now in this phase of life I’m acutely aware at any point on the calendar how far past or how far until that next one. Perhaps it’s accurate to say life is more precious to me today, but possibly I’m also more aware of the lightning fast speed with which it is passing.

You and I may not have much else in common, but we have this. Both of us are careening through space on this lovely blue ball, mostly oblivious to the incredible feat that truly is, filling our days with assorted pursuits, marking our years with the arrival of another anniversary of our starting point.

How are we doing? As on that road trip are we checking the gauges, evaluating our progress, pulling off the road to tend to deficits or just to take in the view?

This past year’s expedition has impacted me significantly.  No, that’s much too bland a word.  This past year has impacted me tremendously, uniquely marvelously, phenomenally.  Though there was no change in the usual metrics by which wealth is measured, I am aware of having abundance as never before.  Those invisible, yet real connections with other travelers on this Solar Lap have translated into my craft’s gauges being marked persistently and undeniably “Full”.

It is indeed the relationships of this past year that have been such a remarkable boon to my life and have enriched me beyond measure.

The man God gave me all those decades ago is still here, loving me, leading me, supporting me, surprising me. He is steady, showing me the quiet strength that only comes from a heart firmly rooted in the Love of the Master. He would be easy to take for granted, but I thank God for him with every ounce and breath of my being. The reach of my wealth because of him is incalculable.

The sons and daughters have dashed off in their own routes, though with great delight to me those routes intersect and parallel mine from time to time. The pure joy and love I feel for them, along with the heart-wrenching pain and sorrow as I watch them navigate pot holes and what I perceive as the occasional wrong turns, have made a deep, deep mark on my soul. They have uniquely contributed to the landscape of my trek, altering forever how I view my life and purpose on this earth. Their impact on me, now with its mix of adult delights and sorrows, fills my heart to overflowing.

Then there’s you. You, whose faces have been coming to my mind all month long, one at a time, in pairs, in brilliant throngs, utterly overwhelming me with emotion as I acknowledge the precious, precious gift straight from the Hand of God you are to me.

You, who have added a sweetness to my travel, encouraging me to keep moving or to pull off and rest.

You, who have quietly come alongside and shouldered the heavy, the stinky, the messy without my having to even ask.

You’ve spoken Truth into my life when I was becoming confused by the dark and noisy distractions.

You’ve allowed me to speak into your life, sharing from the golden treasures wrought by Trial’s great furnace.

You’ve learned and are still learning along with me, studying the ancient, yet ever-fresh, Words of Life and Truth.

You’ve loved me when I was most unlovable.

You’ve blessed me with a smile or wave; hearing you call my name often brought sheer delight.

You’ve trusted me with your special stuff, allowing me to do something I love to do and participate in your wonderful event in a meaningful way… by that I mean prayer, entreating the Father on your behalf, hoping you will hear His call on your life and know His provision for your need.

You’ve also allowed me to sew for you, making something somehow a little better for you or someone you love.

The bit of “map” I’m using for this next Solar Lap tells me to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength… and to love your neighbor as yourself…” (Mark 12:30-31). The other bit of direction I’m trying to follow closely reiterates the imperative nature of these words with Jesus stating, “Even as I have loved you, love one another. By this all men will know you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34b-35).

You, my family, my friends, are showing me this love in action. You are living it out in small, delightful ways and great, big, marvelous ways. You are giving me opportunities to live this out, too.  I am all the richer for the treasure love has given me in you.

May we all follow this bit of map closer every day, every hour of our earthbound travels. May those looking on see that we do it with increasing skill and identify us rightly as His disciples and not just “nice folks”. May there be no end to our expression of it, as there is no end to His expression of love for us.

Know you are being named today among the precious blessings of my life and I am forever grateful to God for the place you have here on the roadway with me.

Leave a comment